Quorn products

• posted by Byllmur
    on

Howdy folks
    New to the forum so a big shout out from irelands east coast.
    Just wondering if any of you know if there have been any tests done on quorn products and how it affects the biome.
    We eat fish on an odd occasion but are mainly veggie and my boys have never eaten meat ( apart from fish) , but they love quorn, especially the sausages and rashers. Having nothing to compare it to, they have no problem with the taste. 😉
    We are not having any adverse affects and we have been eating it for years, although I know from trawling through the web, some have had some pretty nasty reactions.

Our guts are working well and the boys are fighting fit , they have never really been sick or on antibiotics , apart one stint with my eldest when he was a wee nipper and had an ear infection.
    Mine and my parteners health is great. We are an active family and I teach yoga ,previous to that I was a personal trainer, so I have a fair knowledge and try to stay clued in and on top of things.
    Any info greatly appreciated
    All thats good
    Bill

• posted by Firefox7275
    on

You might e-mail Quorn’s manufacturers about research specific to their products and the gut microbiome. Please post here if you get a response.

From memory some Quorn products have far better ingredient/ macronutrient profiles than others. As you probably know, the overall variety and balance of the diet is key to health outcomes over the the long term. If you only eat processed meat substitutes occasionally and have not noticed any adverse effects, you are likely fine to continue.

It would definitely be worth upping your family’s intake of small oily fish (eg. sardines/ mackerel/ herring/ anchovies) to meet official recommendations. For UK adults this is up to four servings a week. Even with marine algae supplements it is difficult to get enough long chain omega-3s.