Research Nurse on Gut health

• posted by Red Dancer
    on

Hello, this message is for Michael if possible. I have been working as a traditional acupuncturist for over 16 years, and am also a qualified nurse/midwife. I am currently on a Return to Practice course in Nursing. I have always had a strong interest in health, nutrition, healthy lifestyle, and disease prevention, and have been giving similar advice (to the Clever Guts diet)to my patients/clients over the years – especially regarding increase of fermented foods into the diet.
    It is of great concern to me to see the huge increase in chronic diseases since I last practised as a nurse, and I am really keen to find some kind of a research role in gut health, as I find it fascinating, and of paramount importance to improving health and preventing disease.
    It is great to see a book like this becoming more of a mainstream approach.
    Can Michael (or anyone else who might know!) advise me on the best way forward in getting into this field?
    Many thanks.

• posted by AARA
    on

Hi Red Dancer,
    I heard the word Microbiome on BBC Radio4 twice in about June 2016 on completely unrelated topics, or so I thoughts. I googled Microbiome and what I have learnt as a result has transformed my life. I hope as more research is done and more people begin to get clever about their guts and what should be living there, that the positive impact on chronic disease will be given the opportunity, by main stream medicine, to fulfill its’ potential. We have to find another way to halt and cure the rising tide of chronic disease in the Western World, before the entire economy collapses under the financial strain. There is also the issue of all those sick people unable to enjoy life as it ought to be.