Ulcerative collitis

• posted by Slaura
    on

Hello, does anyone here suffer from inflammatory bowel disease IBD (ulcerative colitis(UC) or crohns disease) rather than IBS? My daughter-in -law has UC and is currently in hospital again. I feel that the key to her staying well is through maintaining a healthy gut microbiome but does anyone know if the clever guts diet is suitable for her? She is only 23 and was diagnosed about 10 months ago and this is her 3rd flare up already. I would really like to help her.

• posted by Wilf Woodman
    on

I can’t offer any clinical advice as I’m a tree surgeon not a bowel surgeon. However, I do have UC and its limited to my lower bowel so I guess that makes me lucky. I’ve had no medication in the four years since being diognosed and have had a number of flare ups. I was told that diet won’t change things, only having different partents would help!
    My findings and experience over the last four years are as follows. Stress and sleep definitiely make things worse. Stay clear of spicy food and instant coffee, they both make my guts gurgle. Stopping all alcohol is very beneficial and I’ve found that it can sometime send it into remission completely. Alcohol must be really bad for you because the effect of stopping was quite dramatic with me. Although I still allow my self a G&T or some red wine. I’ve also tried Gluten Free and followed the Clever Gut Diet advice which also helped. Dropped the white bread and increased my intake of fibre and yoghurt and fruit and oily fish. I mix Turmeric in with yohurt, honey, apple and granola…..sounds yuck but I love it now.
    Good luck and I hope she start feeling better soon.

• posted by Pam1954
    on

Hi Slaura