Long term gut issues candida?? Hoping Clever guts can help! + biome testing?

• posted by badfoodrising
    on

Hi!!
    Have just found this site but have followed Michael on Trust Me I’m a Doctor and seen various articles he has authored. I have been suffering long term problems with extreme gas (both ways!), usually after eating or drinking, it can even be just tap water that will trigger it, but also when urinating (or trying to) which seems to have baffled my GP & urologist now I have been referred for chronic bladder retention.
    I have had long term fungal infections, ringworm/tinea, thrush and strongly suspected candidiasis in GI and GU tracts (leading to gas and thrush) which I put down to excessive prolonged steroid prescription as a child for asthma & ezcema.
    I have had a look at the biome testing options for the UK, British Gut and Atlas DNA, but both seem to only mention sequencing of bacterial DNA, not candida yeasts? Does anyone know whether they do actually sequence for this too?
    Looking around the web I’ve seen interesting suggestions that D,L-2-hydroxyisocaproic acid (HICA) which is produced by some Lactobacillus species can inhibit the biofilm on which Candida grows, but I’m not clear whether you can get this on prescription or whether you have to seek out from sports supplements sellers online? Also not clear whether taking various Lactobacillus probiotics as supplements would allow creation of this acid in the body (also do the pills endure the stomach acid to pass into the gut etc.)?

http://europepmc.org/articles/PMC4035295

• posted by Firefox7275
    on