I need help with a programme for possible Gastro oesophagus reflux (GORD)

• posted by IKeeptrying
    on

Hi I’m not sure where to post this are I’m not really a newbie but I’m looking for advice. I’ve suffered with digestive symptoms for a few year or more, I get acid reflux, difficulty swallowing food at times, indigestion, IBS, grumbling, windy at both ends, feel bloated often, I’ve a cough since before Xmas. I try to manage it by looking for trigger foods and situations and avoiding them

I finally went to my GP and he’s referred me for an urgent endoscopy, my appointment is this Saturday. I know I shouldn’t jump the gun and assume things but having googled my symptoms it sounds like I have GORD or/and hiatus hernia. I want to try and manage it myself with a bit of help from medication

I need to lose weight too, my BMI is 28!! I’m annoyed with myself that I’ve got myself into this state, as my mum would say, I’ve let myself go. I’m reading that the Mediterranean diet combined with a clever guts diet might be best and I’m wondering if anyone has any advice they can give me.

I’ve been dipping into cleverguts on and off for a while but somehow I haven’t stuck with it. Perhaps now is the motivation (shock) I need

• posted by IKeeptrying
    on

Anyone??

• posted by IKeeptrying
    on

Hi I had the gastroscopy this this morning – not pleasant! it seems from the initial diagnosis that my oesophagus is inflamed and I’ve got GORD and been given 4 weeks of omaprazole and I’ve to go back in 4 weeks and see how it’s going.

I think it’s been exacerbated by us having a long running building project on our house and not having a working kitchen for some of this time. Also I had an awful hacking cough/ cold virus after Xmas – as my mum would say – I’m probably run down!